KLTV Exclusive

Bank Street Children's Books Awards

Bank Street Children’s Book Awards

| by Julie Gribble |

I was honored to document this year’s Bank Street Children’s Book Committee Awards! What a great event! Susan Kuklin is a joy to hear – you will love her speech. Nancy Paulsen shared a message from Jacqueline Woodson, Ann Dye accepted the Claudia Lewis Award on behalf of Joyce Sidman, and Jessica Garrison accepted the Josette Frank Award on behalf of Jandy Nelson.

Afterwards, we chatted with Ann M. Martin and listened to her presentation in the classroom with students. highlightsBankStreet

Enjoy highlights from the award presenters and winners!
Ann M. Martin
Susan Kuklin
Nancy Paulsen
Ann Dye
Jessica Garrison
Jenny Brown
Linda Greengrass
Mollie Welsh Kruger

Click HERE to watch the full award ceremony which includes a greeting from Shael Polakow-Suranksy, Bank Street College of Education President, and Alexis Wright, Dean of Children’s Programs.


Josette Frank Award
for Older Readers:
I’ll Give You the Sun
by Jandy Nelson
(Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group USA)
for Younger Readers”
Rain Reign
by Ann M. Martin
(Feiwel and Friends, an imprint of Macmillan)

Flora Stieglitz Straus Award
Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out
by Susan Kuklin
(Candlewick Press)

Claudia Lewis Award
for Older Readers:
Brown Girl Dreaming
by Jacqueline Woodson
(Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Group USA)
for Younger Readers:
Winter Bees
by Joyce Sidman, illus. by Rick Allen
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

The Josette Frank Award
The Josette Frank Award has been given annually since 1943. From 1943 to 1997 it was called the “Children’s Book Award.” Josette Frank, the editor of anthologies for children, served for many years as the Executive Director of the Child Study Association of America of which this committee was a part. This award for fiction honors a book or books of outstanding literary merit in which children or young people deal in a positive and realistic way with difficulties in their world and grow emotionally and morally.

The Flora Stieglitz Straus Award
The Flora Stieglitz Straus Award was established in 1994. It honors Flora Straus who led the committee for many years. The award is presented annually for a distinguished work of nonfiction which serves as an inspiration to young people. Flora Straus stood for the values of courage, hard work, truth and beauty, while adapting to a changing world. She believed that books about varying cultures enrich and help all children in their growth. She championed diverse opinions and points of view. She was a person of high principles, unfailing courtesy and deep understanding, and was an inspiration to all who had the privilege of knowing her.

The Claudia Lewis Award
The Claudia Lewis Award, given for the first time in 1998, honors the late Claudia Lewis, distinguished children’s book expert and longtime member of the Bank Street College faculty and Children’s Book Committee. She conveyed her love and understanding of poetry with humor and grace. The award is given for the best poetry book of the year.

Host: Rocco Staino @RoccoA
Executive Producer: Julie Gribble @JulieGribbleNYC

Join us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/KidLitTV
Pin us on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/KidLitTV
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/KidLitTV_NYC
Get Your Backstage Pass: https://kidlit.tv/newsletter

Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.