KLTV Exclusive

LIVE STREAM | The Irma Black Award & Cook Prize Ceremony

A Live Stream EVENT!

Thursday May 14th, 10:00am

The Irma Black Award and Cook Prize Ceremony LIVE FROM NYC’s Bank Street College of Education.

LIVE STREAM from Bank Street College!

KidLit TV Live Streamed the Irma Black Award and Cook Prize Ceremony!



Shael Polakow-Suransky, President, Bank Street College of Education

Alexis Wright, Dean Children’s Programs, Bank Street College of Education

Jennifer M. Brown, Director, the Center for Children’s Literature, Bank Street College of Education

Keynote Address by Fiona Robinson, 2012 Irma Black Award Winner for What Animals Really Like followed by the Irma Black Award and Cook Prize Presentation.

The Irma S. Black and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children’s Literature goes to an outstanding book for young children – a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing the other to produce a singular whole.

PRESENTATION: Mollie Welsh Kruger and Allie Bruce – The three Irma S. and James H. Black Honor Books published in 2014:

Blizzard by John Rocco (Hyperion)

Elizabeth, Queen of the Seas by Lynne Cox, illus. by Brian Floca (Schwartz & Wade)

Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton (Candlewick)

The 2015 Irma S. and James H. Black WINNER:

Sam & Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett, illus. by Jon Klassen (Candlewick)

The Cook Prize honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book published for children aged eight to ten. The Irma S. Black Award and the Cook Prize are unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning books.

PRESENTATION: Kristin Freda, Director of the Library 

Lila Mortimer and Babara Dubitsky – The three Cook Prize Honor Books published in 2014:

Behold the Beautiful Dung Beetle by Cheryl Bardoe, illus. by Alan Marks (Charlesbridge)

Mr. Ferris and His Wheel by Kathryn Gibbs Davis, illus. by Gilbert Ford
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Mysterious Patterns: Finding Fractals in Nature by Sarah C. Campbell,
photos by Sarah C. Campbell & Richard P. Campbell (Boyds Mills)

The 2015 Cook Prize WINNER:

Galápagos George by Jean Craighead George, illus. by Wendell Minor (Harper)

KidLit TV’s Newsletter

For more kid lit videos and behind the scenes scoops, sign up for the KidLit TV Backstage Pass!

Join us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/KidLitTV
Pin us on Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/KidLitTV
Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/KidLitTV_NYC
Get Your Backstage Pass: https://kidlit.tv/newsletter


Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

One Comment

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.