KLTV Exclusive

StoryMakers: 2016 Irma Black Award and Cook Prize

StoryMakers On Location | 2016 Irma Black Award/Cook Prize

KidLit TV returned to the Bank Street College of Education for the 2016 Irma Black Award and Cook Prize ceremony. StoryMakers host Rocco Staino interviewed event MC, Scott Magoon, the 2016 Irma Black Award and Cook Prize winners, and honor book recipients.

Both the Irma Black Award and Cook Prize recognize outstanding children’s books. Continue reading to see the list of winners and honor books, and to learn more about the origin of the award and prize.


We’ve provided time stamps (in parentheses) for the interviews conducted during this episode of StoryMakers On Location.

  • Scott Magoon, event MC and recipient of the 2013 Irma Black Award (00:26)
  • Anne Vittur Kennedy, Irma Black Honor (03:15)
  • Laurie Wallmark, Cook Prize Honor (04:56)
  • Lisa Kahn Schnell, Cook Prize Honor (06:42)
  • Mara Rockliff, Cook Prize Winner (09:58)
StoryMakers On Location - 2016 Irma Black Award and Cook Prize
Irma S. and James H. Black Award Winner

It’s Only Stanley
Written and illustrated by Jon Agee
Published by Dial Books

Irma S. and James H. Black Honor Books

Ragweed’s Farm Dog Handbook
Written and illustrated by Anne Vittur Kennedy
Published by Candlewick Press

Red: A Crayon’s Story
Written and illustrated by Michael Hall
Published by Greenwillow Books

You Can Do It, Bert!
Written and illustrated by Ole Könnecke
Published by Gecko Press

Cook Prize Winner

Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled All of France
Written by Mara Rockliff, illustrated by Iacopo Bruno
Published by Candlewick Press

Cook Prize Honor Books

Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine
Written by Laurie Wallmark, illustrated by April Chu
Published by Creston Books

High Tide for Horseshoe Crabs
Written by Lisa Kahn Schnell, illustrated by Alan Marks
Published by Charlesbridge Publishing


Irma Black wrote and edited children’s books. She was a longtime member of the Bank Street Writers Laboratory. The Irma S. and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children’s Literature is awarded to an exceptional book whose text and illustration augment each other in such a manner that they create an unforgettable whole.

The Cook Prize is named in honor of Don Cook of the Bank Street Graduate School of Education and Michael Cook (no relation) of the Bank Street School for Children. The Cook Prize is awarded to an outstanding picture book focused on science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) for those aged eight to ten.


The mission of Bank Street College is to improve the education of children and their teachers by applying to the education process all available knowledge about learning and growth, and by connecting teaching and learning meaningfully to the outside world. In so doing, we seek to strengthen not only individuals, but the community as well, including family, school, and the larger society in which adults and children, in all their diversity, interact and learn. We see in education the opportunity to build a better society.

Read more, here.

Facebook | LinkedIn | Twitter | YouTube

Facebook Group Facebook Page Instagram | Newsletter | Pinterest | Twitter YouTube

Host: Rocco Staino | Executive Producer: Julie Gribble 

Did you like this article? Leave a comment below.
We love hearing from you!
Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.