KidLit Crafts & Activities for Valentine’s Day

Celebrate Valentine’s Day

with a Book and a Craft or Activity
to share with someone YOU LOVE!

Read

Moo-Moo I Love You!

About the Book

From the bestselling and beloved team behind I Wish You More, comes a moo-ving ode to the love between parent and child

New York Times bestselling pair Tom Lichtenheld and Amy Krouse Rosenthal present udderly perfect expressions of affection to share between any cow and calf: I love you no matter your moo-d. I love giving you a big s-moo-ch. My love for you is as big as . . . a MOO-SE! With a universal message and warm, funny text that families will read and reread together, this exuberant book from two picture book superstars at their best, is a moo-velous choice for gifts year-round to fans of I Love You to the Moon and Back and Guess How Much I Love You.

Make A Paper Plate Valentine’s Cow

from

READ

Here Comes Valentine Cat

About the Book

The New York Times bestselling Cat is back just in time for Valentine’s Day—but he’s not interested in giving a valentine to any old dog. Full of humor and heart, this picture book is perfect for fans of Pete the CatBad Kitty, Mo Willems’s Elephant and Piggie books, and of course, Cat’s two previous capers, Here Comes the Easter Cat and Here Comes Santa Cat.

Cat does NOT like Valentine’s Day. It’s much too mushy, and no way is he making anyone a valentine—especially not his new neighbor, Dog. Dog refuses to respect the fence: He keeps tossing over old bones and hitting Cat in the head! But just as Cat’s about to send Dog an angry “valentine” telling him exactly what he can do with his bones, Dog throws a ball over the fence. What is Dog playing at? Cat is in for a hilarious—and heartwarming—surprise in this story about being perhaps too quick to judge.

A great Valentine’s Day gift for any age—read it on Valentine’s Day and year-round!

CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD Here Comes Valentine Cat

Mailbox Craft

CLICK HERE to DOWNLOAD Here Comes Valentine Cat

Valentine’s Day Card

READ

Sealed With A Kiss

About the Book

An Amazon Best Book of the Month pick!

What’s a seal to do when she’s new to the zoo? Make new friends, of course!

But when the other animals aren’t so friendly, a wise sparrow inspires them to surprise Seal with a special treat.

Full of heart and humor, this story of friendship and forgiveness from bestselling author Beth Ferry and illustrator Olivier Tallec will have little ones giggling along, and it makes for a fun Valentine’s Day gift!

Make a Seal with Apple Slices from Kix!

READ

The Love Letter

About the Book

Fall in love with this endearing and adorable picture book that illustrates how a little bit of heart goes a long way to making the world a better place.

Hedgehog, Bunny, and Squirrel are best friends. One day, they each find a letter. But not just any letter…

A love letter.

My word!

My whiskers!

Aww, nuts!

Someone loves them. But who? The answer may surprise you!

Celebrated author Anika Aldamuy Denise and beloved illustrator Lucy Ruth Cummins deliver this heartwarming tale about a wonderful mix-up that reminds us of the joys of friendship.

Makes for a perfect Valentine’s Day gift, or for any time you want to tell someone in your life how much you love them!

Click Here to DOWNLOAD The Love Letter Activity Sheets

READ

How Do I Love Thee?

About the Book

A gorgeous reinvention of Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s famous “Sonnet 43” from the bestselling author of the BabyLit board books and the acclaimed illustrator of Over and Under the Snow. 

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

Whether in soft sunlight or rain-drizzled night or winter’s frost-etched breath, three children share the love and joy of friendship while exploring the wonders of nature.

Bestselling author Jennifer Adams has reimagined Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s beloved “Sonnet 43,” best known by its opening lines, creating a lyrical, evocative ode to the love of family and friends. Christopher Silas Neal brings the poetry to life with his beautiful, imaginative, and whimsical illustrations.

Click Here to DOWNLOAD

How Do I Love Thee? Activities 

Read

Love Is My Favorite Thing

About the Book

Starring an enthusiastic pooch whose joy, optimism and love know no bounds, this lively picture book is based on Emma Chichester Clark’s own dog, and joyfully celebrates unconditional love.

Plum has lots of favorite things—catching sticks, her bear, her bed—but really, LOVE is her absolute favorite thing. She loves her family and all the things they do together. Sometimes, however, Plum’s exuberance causes trouble, and she just can’t help being naughty. But fortunately, love is such a great thing that even when she makes mistakes, Plum’s family still adores her.

Make a Valentine’s Day Dog

from

MEGAN CAHILL-ASSENZA – is from Northport, NY, and a recent Children’s Literature Fellow from Stony Brook University. A writer, filmmaker, and animal lover, Megan is pursuing a career in children’s literature. She currently works in the Academic Tutoring Center at Suffolk County Community College.

Connect with Megan!  Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

 

Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.