KidLit Crafts and Activities for EARTH DAY

• April 22nd is Earth Day •
Celebrate and Appreciate our Planet!
Let’s READ Earth Day books and MAKE Earth Day crafts with KidLit TV!

READ

About the Book

Celebrate Earth Day with this valentine to our wonderful planet from the Newbery Award-winning author of Sarah, Plain and Tall.

Our friend Earth does so many wonderful things! She tends to animals large and small. She pours down summer rain and autumn leaves. She sprinkles whisper-white snow and protects the tiny seeds waiting for spring.

Readers of all ages will pore over the pages of this spectacular book. Its enticing die-cut pages encourage exploration as its poetic text celebrates everything Earth does for us, all the while reminding us to be a good friend in return.

• Interactive format and kid-friendly art will engage both toddlers and young readers.
• A celebration of the natural world and rallying cry for positive action for Planet Earth
• Great opportunities to share life science concepts and amazing facts about the environment with children

This beautiful and innovative ode to our natural world will appeal to readers of Here We Are: Notes for Living on Planet EarthThe Poet’s Dog, and Thank You, Earth. A Mighty Girl 2020 Book of the Year

Make A Plastic Earth out of Milk

from

READ

About the Book

There’s no doubt about it—plastic is in almost everything. From our phones and computers to our toys and utensils, plastic is everywhere. But the amount of plastic we throw away is hurting the health of our planet.

With The Last Straw: Kids vs. Plastics, readers will be fascinated as they learn about the growing plastic problem and meet just a few of the young activists who are standing up and speaking out for change.

  • You’ll hear about the “Be Straw Free” campaign, started by nine-year-old Milo Cress.
  • You’ll discover how scientists are using jellyfish snot and munching, crunching caterpillars to break down plastic pollution faster.
  • You’ll meet Xóchitl Guadalupe Cruz López, the eight-year-old girl turning old plastic bottles into solar heaters.

And there are many more incredible kids here, not much older than our readers, who will inspire us all to change the way we think about plastic!

With an introduction from Milo Cress and bright, colorful illustrations from Christiane Engel, this collection of brilliant, lyrical nonfiction poems by award-winning author Susan Hood highlights the threat of plastic and the kids who are fighting for change to save our planet. Includes extensive backmatter with a timeline, author’s note, further resources, and more.

Host a Book Chat about THE LAST STRAW – DOWNLOAD this Activity Sheet

READ

About the Book

From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown’s The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson’s If You Plant a Seed.

Each day, the big trucks go to work. They scoop and hoist and push.

But when Digger discovers something growing in the rubble, he sets in motion a series of events that will change him, and the city, forever.

“This story contains bold graphic illustrations and a wonderful message about the environment,” proclaims Brightly in their article “18 Must-Read Picture Books of 2018.”

Draw your own city! DOWNLOAD THE DIGGER AND THE FLOWER Activity Sheets

READ

About the Book

Renowned picture book creators Nicola Davies and Petr Horácek team up for a captivating first look at animals around the world.

Polar bears playing on the ice, tigers hunting in the jungle, and nightingales singing in the heart of the woods — animals are everywhere. In a remarkable collection of poems, children’s author Nicola Davies shares keen observations on wildlife around the world. Sometimes lyrical and sometimes humorous, the poems reveal fascinating facts about animals of every color, shape, size, and origin, from giant blue whales to bats as tiny as bumblebees. Lively, colorful illustrations by Petr Horácek reveal the vast beauty and variety of the animal world in this essential introduction, perfect for even the youngest amateur zoologists.

Try this CROSSWORD PUZZLE and MORE

from

 

READ

About the Book

Make Perfect Parakeets

from

READ

About the Book

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted comes a beautiful book about the animals who share our planet–and what we can do to help them survive.

Did you know that blue whales are the largest animals in the world? Or that sea otters wash their paws after every meal? The world is filled with millions of animal species, and all of them are unique and special. Many are on the path to extinction.

In this book, Chelsea Clinton introduces young readers to a selection of endangered animals, sharing what makes them special, and also what threatens them. Taking readers through the course of a day, Don’t Let Them Disappear talks about rhinos, tigers, whales, pandas and more, and provides helpful tips on what we all can do to help prevent these animals from disappearing from our world entirely.

With warm and engaging art by Gianna Marino, this book is the perfect read for animal-lovers and anyone who cares about our planet.

Make Animal Crafts 

from

MEGAN CAHILL-ASSENZA – is from Northport, NY, and a recent Children’s Literature Fellow from Stony Brook University. A writer, filmmaker, and animal lover, Megan is pursuing a career in children’s literature. She currently works in the Academic Tutoring Center at Suffolk County Community College.
Connect with Megan!  Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

One Comment

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.