KidLit Arts and Crafts for Thanksgiving

• Celebrate Thanksgiving with KidLit TV! •

Come together to Read and Make Thanksgiving themed Books and Crafts!

Happy Thanksgiving!

READ

How to Catch a Turkey: Wallace, Adam, Elkerton, Andy: 9781492664352: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

A New York Times Bestseller! From the bestselling How to Catch series comes a festive turkey tale and Thanksgiving book for kids!

A turkey is running loose in a school right before a Thanksgiving play. Can YOU help catch it so the show can go on? Follow along as students turn their school upside down trying to catch the turkey, ending with a twist that ensures no turkeys are harmed (or eaten!).

MAKE your own TURKEY TRAP

from 

 

MAKE a Turkey from Playdough!

 

Play Dough Turkeys | Mama Papa Bubba

READ

Amazon.com: Gratitude is My Superpower: A children's book about Giving Thanks and Practicing Positivity (My Superpower Books): 9798533341301: Ortego, Alicia: Books

About the Book

Learn how to be thankful for what you already have. Gratitude is your Superpower! 

It is very important to learn the ability to appreciate not only the new things in your life but also everything that you already have. This story is very good any time your kids are feeling down or forget their manners. Just remind them to appreciate all the good things they have.

Little Betsy will learn that happiness is made up of simple things in life, both small and big. With the help of the magic stone, she will begin to feel gratitude for her parents, friends, and toys. But what happens when little Betsy forgets to use the magic of her stone? She will realize that the power of gratitude is hidden in her heart.

DOWNLOAD this Gratitude Activity

from Author Alicia Ortego

READ

Around the Table That Grandad Built: Heuiser Hill, Melanie, Kim, Jaime: 9780763697846: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

This is the table that Grandad built.
These are the sunflowers picked by my cousins,
set on the table that Grandad built.

In a unique take on the cumulative classic “This Is the House That Jack Built,” a family gathers with friends and neighbors to share a meal around a table that brims with associations: napkins sewn by Mom, glasses from Mom and Dad’s wedding, silverware gifted to Dad by his grandma long ago. Not to mention the squash from the garden, the bread baked by Gran, and the pies made by the young narrator (with a little help). Serving up a diverse array of dishes and faces, this warm and welcoming story is poised to become a savored part of Thanksgiving traditions to come.

A beautifully illustrated celebration of bounty and gratitude, family and friendship, perfect for the holidays and every day.

MAKE Family Themed Activities
from

The Virtual Book Club for Kids

collage of family themed activities for preschoolers with the cover of the featured book Around the table that grandad built for the virtual book club for kids

READ

Thank You, Omu!: Mora, Oge: 9780316431248: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that’s perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.

Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu’s delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself?

Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu’s stew, with an extra serving of love. An author’s note explains that “Omu” (pronounced AH-moo) means “queen” in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean “Grandma.” This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora’s life.

DOWNLOAD the Thank You, Omu! Activity Guide

from

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Logo Vector Download - (.SVG + .PNG) - Logovectordl.Com

READ

About the Book

A look at modern Native American life as told by a citizen of the Cherokee Nation

The word otsaliheliga (oh-jah-LEE-hay-le-gah) is used by members of the Cherokee Nation to express gratitude. Beginning in the fall with the new year and ending in summer, follow a full Cherokee year of celebrations and experiences. Appended with a glossary and the complete Cherokee syllabary, originally created by Sequoyah.

WATCH this video from KidLit TV!

StoryMakers with Tracie Sorrell  WE ARE GRATEFUL, OTSALIHELIGA

Download Book Activities HERE!

READ

Our Table: Reynolds, Peter H., Reynolds, Peter H.: 9781338572322: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

Creative visionary of The Word CollectorHappy Dreamer, and The Dot, #1 New York Times bestseller Peter H. Reynolds creates a tender, lyrical story of multigenerational love, tradition, and family coming together with gratitude and thanks.

Celebrated, bestselling creator Peter H. Reynolds brings his signature touch of love and kindness to this special, timely picture book, as families now, more than ever, are rediscovering and reevaluating what means the most: time together with one another.

Violet longs for the time when her family was connected: before life, distractions, and technology pulled them all away from each other. They used to gather at the table, with food and love, to make memories, share their lives, and revel in time spent together. But now her family has been drifting apart, and with nobody to gather around it, the table grows smaller and smaller.

Can Violet remind her family of the warmth of time spent together, and gather around the table once more?

A mystical fable that feels at once timeless and utterly of the present moment, Our Table is renowned, bestselling creator Peter H. Reynolds at his best. Exquisite, expressive watercolor tells a tender story, growing from monochrome into luscious, joyful color as Violet’s family is reunited around the beloved table. An ode to traditions that unite families, Our Table brings readers together with a universal message of gratitude.

DOWNLOAD Scholastic’s Activity Guide

READ

Balloons over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy's Parade (Bank Street College of Education Flora Stieglitz Straus Award (Awards)): Sweet, Melissa: 9780547199450: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

Everyone’s a New Yorker on Thanksgiving Day, when young and old rise early to see what giant new balloons will fill the skies for Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

Who first invented these “upside-down puppets”?

Meet Tony Sarg, puppeteer extraordinaire! In brilliant collage illustrations, Caldecott Honor artist Melissa Sweet tells the story of the puppeteer Tony Sarg, capturing his genius, his dedication, his zest for play, and his long-lasting gift to America—the inspired helium balloons that would become the trademark of Macy’s Parade.

Watch this video from KidLit TV!

Read Out Loud: BALLOONS OVER BROADWAY with Rocco
Craft This!
Download Balloons Over Broadway Activity Kit

READ

Duck for Turkey Day (Hardcover) | Albert Whitman & Company

About the Book

It’s almost Thanksgiving, and Tuyet is excited about the holiday and the vacation from school. There’s just one problem: her Vietnamese American family is having duck for Thanksgiving dinner — not turkey! Nobody has duck for Thanksgiving — what will her teacher and the other kids think?

To her surprise, Tuyet enjoys her yummy Thanksgiving dinner anyhow — and an even bigger surprise is waiting for her at school on Monday. Dinners from roast beef to lamb to enchiladas adorned the Thanksgiving tables of her classmates, but the celebrations all had something in common — family!

Kids from families with different traditions will enjoy this warm story about “the right way” to celebrate an American holiday.

LISTEN to author Jacqueline Jules‘ Thanksgiving Songs

 

Download this WRITING Prompt from Jacqueline Jules

MEGAN CAHILL-ASSENZA – is from Northport, NY, and a recent Children’s Literature Fellow from Stony Brook University. A writer, filmmaker, and animal lover, Megan is pursuing a career in children’s literature. She currently works in the Academic Tutoring Center at Suffolk County Community College.
Connect with Megan!  Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

One Comment

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.