KidLit Arts and Crafts for Halloween

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Celebrate READING and MAKING Halloween themed crafts!
These will be a TREAT!

READ

I See a Bat (I Like to Read): 9780823452651: Meisel, Paul: Books - Amazon.com

About the Book

A dog explores the night and finds a bat, the moon, and his favorite boy!

From two-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Honoree Paul Meisel, kindergarteners can read this Level A book on their own.

I see a bat.
I see stars.
I see the moon.

Easy-to-read text and fun pictures follow a dog through the nighttime. Sitting inside his house by his empty bowl, the dog watches the nightly sights outside until he falls asleep. When morning comes, his favorite boy comes to fill his empty bowl!

A companion to his 2018 Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book, I See a Cat, Paul Mesiel brings young readers a sleepy adventure they can read all on their own.

This book has been officially leveled by using the F & P Text Level Gradient(TM) Leveling System.

Level A books, suitable for early kindergarten, are ideal first books for kids to read on their own. One short sentence repeats on every page with one word change per spread. Simple plots are heavily supported by the detailed illustrations. When Level A is mastered, follow up with Level B.

The award-winning I Like to Read® series focuses on guided reading levels A through G, based upon Fountas and Pinnell standards. Acclaimed author-illustrators—including winners of Caldecott, Theodor Seuss Geisel, and Coretta Scott King honors—create original,high quality illustrations that support comprehension of simple text and are fun for kids to read again and again with their parents, teachers or on their own!

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection

MAKE POM POM BATS 

from

Pom Pom Bats - total cuteness! #Pompoms #pompom #pompombat #bat #cutebat #halloween

READ

About the Book

Celebrate all things scary with #1 New York Times best-selling author Ryan T. Higgins’s beloved Mother Bruce.

Bruce is a bear who does not like holidays, and he really doesn’t like Halloween. His family of mice and geese decides the only way to get Bruce excited about Halloween is to tell a scary story.

But their campfire tale takes a turn when a ghostly visitor appears. Will Bruce get in the Halloween spirit? Or will the Halloween spirit get Bruce?

MAKE Handprint Halloween Keepsake

from

READ

The Little Ghost Who Lost Her Boo!: Bickell, Elaine, McGrath, Raymond: 9780593202159: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

The New York Times bestselling read-aloud about a little ghost who goes on a nighttime hunt to find her lost “boo!”. Perfect for fans of Five Little Pumpkins, Room on a Broom, and How to Catch a Monster!

Little Ghost went out in the middle of the night and flew up to someone to give them a fright.
She opened her mouth–but her BOO wasn’t there! All that came out was a rush of cold air.
“I’ve lost my BOO! I’ve lost my BOO! Where has it gone? What will I do?”

Poor Little Ghost has lost her scary BOO, so she sets out on a nighttime hunt to find it. She searches high and low, but it’s nowhere to be found! Will she ever find her lost BOO?

With bold and gorgeous art accompanied by bouncy, rhyming text, The Little Ghost Who Lost Her Boo is a charming, not-so-spooky read aloud perfect for Halloween or any time of year!

MAKE Puffy Ghost from



Puffy Ghost Halloween Craft | Halloween Crafts for Kids


 

MAKE Handprint Ghost Keepsake from Glued To My Crafts

Easiest Handprint BOO Ghost Keepsake

READ

Amazon.com: Frankenstein Doesn't Wear Earmuffs!: 9780062941145: Loren, John, Loren, John: Books

About the Book

Nothing ruins the perfect scary costume like a pair of earmuffs! Families will laugh along with this Halloween picture book.

A young trick-or-treater has the best Frankenstein costume ever…if he can make it out the front door!

Every time he tries to set foot into the dark and stormy night, his overly concerned parents interrupt with yet another warm and cozy addition to his costume. But Frankenstein does not wear floppy boots, or a puffy jacket, or a fanny pack. And he especially doesn’t wear earmuffs!

Will our young Frankenstein be able to break loose from his bundled layers and have the Halloween of his dreams?

Don’t miss this funny picture book debut from John Loren! Good for sharing along with such favorites as Room on the Broom and The Spooky Wheels on the Bus.

MAKE a Frankenstein Treat Bag for Halloween

from

READ

Eenie Meenie Halloweenie: Eaddy, Susan, Fleming, Lucy: 9780062691675: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

Need a Halloween costume idea? Eenie Meenie has plenty!

In this rhythmic read-aloud picture book, a little girl wonders what she should be for Halloween. Good thing she has a dress-up trunk full of different costume ideas!

Eenie meenie Halloweenie, kitty, bat, or snake? Perhaps a bear? I might just wear a costume that I make!

It’s Halloween eve, and a little girl has a dress-up trunk full of different costume ideas! Orange tights and Daddy’s tux can transform her into a penguin—or she could be an elephant, with pillowcases for her ears and a sock for her nose! What costume will she choose?

Eenie Meenie Halloweenie is a celebration of the ingenuity of an adorable girl creating fun costumes from everyday materials. Readers will be inspired to do the same!

This jacketed hardcover picture book is perfect for the not-so-spooky storytime.

PLAY Dress Up Activities

from

Water Hose, Child, Water, Fun, Wet, Outdoor, Spray

The Fashion Set

Borrow clothes from your family; then put on a fashion show. Learn other ways to have fun.

Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker

What you do want to be when you grow up? See the ways that you can dress up like that person.

Magic Wand

With a magic wand, you can be a magician or a fairy princess. Find out how to make one.

Wonderful Wizard or Crowned Royalty

Try on this wizard hat or king’s (or queen’s) crown for a “just right” dress-up accessory. Learn how to make it.

Pipe Cleaner Ears

You can be a rabbit, a mouse, or any other animal with a pair of pipe cleaner ears. Find out more about it.

Put on a fashion show with clothes you can find at home! Read all about it on the next page.

DOWNLOAD Eenie Meenie Halloweenie Activity Pages

from author, Susan Eaddy

 

READ

Amazon.com: Cookie Boo: 9780062869562: Paul, Ruth, Paul, Ruth: Books

About the Book

The cookies climb out of the cookie tin and go on a Halloween adventure in this rhythmic read-aloud, perfect for family sharing.

Seven spooky cookies sitting in a tin, waiting for the moonlight to let the magic in…

Cookie Boo, from award-winning author-illustrator Ruth Paul, is sure to make celebrating Halloween fun!

When the cookies escape for a Halloween romp they will have some tricks and treats before the night is through. This foil-covered picture book is a good choice for a not-so-spooky storytime.

DOWNLOAD Cookie Boo Activity Sheets from HarperCollins

 

MAKE Halloween Cookies

from

Halloween Party Cutout Cookies

READ

The Scarecrow: Ferry, Beth, Fan, Eric, Fan, Terry: 9780062475763: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

Bestselling author Beth Ferry (Stick and Stone) and the widely acclaimed Fan Brothers (The Night Gardener) present a gorgeous and poignant picture book about two unexpected friends and the special connection they share.

This tender and affectionate story reminds us of the comforting power of friendship and the joy of helping others—a tale that will inspire and delight children for generations to come.

All the animals know not to mess with old Scarecrow. But when a small, scared crow falls from midair, Scarecrow does the strangest thing.…

He saves the tiny baby crow.

Soon a loving bond grows between the two unlikely friends. But is it strong enough to weather the changing of the seasons?

DOWNLOAD The Scarecrow Activities Sheets

from

HarperCollins

READ

It's a Pumpkin!: McClure, Wendy, Kronreif, Kate: 9780807512166: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

When Field Mouse and Squirrel find something big, round, and orange in the middle of the road, it looks kind of familiar. Skunk is positive it’s a lamp, and Rabbit thinks it looks like a snack, but no one knows for sure. Luckily, there’s one thing they can all agree on: it’s the life of the party! Discover all of the ways you can use a pumpkin in this adorable fall adventure.

MAKE Pumpkin Playdough

from

pumpkin playdough 1

READ

Quackenstein Hatches a Family: Bardhan-Quallen, Sudipta: 9781419757358: Amazon.com: Books

About the Book

A spooky and kooky tale about a lonely duck and his unexpected new friend—now in an 8 x 8 trim size and paperback

Told in rollicking rhyme, this picture book introduces Quackenstein, a lonely duck in his “lair” at the zoo. One day, Quack is inspired to adopt an egg from the nursery and—much like his inspiration, Dr. Frankenstein—he’s shocked by what emerges from the egg. The “monster” chases him throughout the zoo in a fast-paced and funny parody of monster movies. In the twist ending, the monster (actually an adorable platypus) and Quack resolve their differences and settle down as a not-so-spooky family.

DOWNLOAD Hatching Platypus Craft

from

Oxford University Museum of Natural History

DOWNLOAD Quackenstein Coloring Sheets

from author, Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen

MEGAN CAHILL-ASSENZA – is from Northport, NY, and a recent Children’s Literature Fellow from Stony Brook University. A writer, filmmaker, and animal lover, Megan is pursuing a career in children’s literature. She currently works in the Academic Tutoring Center at Suffolk County Community College.
Connect with Megan!  Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Did you like this post? Leave a comment for us below.
We love to hear from YOU!

Leave Your Comment

Comments will be moderated.